SharePoint Workflow status codes

Here are the workflow status codes which are required, for example, you want to filter a view on the workflow status. The status enumeration is defined by the SPWorkFlowStatus enum, within the Microsoft.SharePoint.Workflow namespace in the Microsoft.SharePoint assembly.

In case if you are retrieving the list values in a SQL Reports using the SharePoint provided web service you will get these status codes only and not the text values.

NotStarted = 0

FailedOnStart = 1

InProgress = 2

ErrorOccurred = 3

StoppedByUser = 4

Completed = 5

FailedOnStartRetrying = 6

ErrorOccurredRetrying = 7

ViewQueryOverflow = 8

Max = 15

In addition, if you are using the OOTB Approval workflow then the return codes for this, as defined in the ReviewRoutingState enumeration within the Microsoft.Office.Workflow namespace (Microsoft.Office.Workflow.Routing assembly), are:

Canceled = 15

Approved = 0x10 (16)

Rejected = 0x11 (17)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: